Struggle and Success Saturday: Eggs for Breakfast

on

The good news this week is that my little boy figured out how to like scrambled eggs. The bad news is that it’s high-fructose-corn-syrup-laden ketchup! But the good news is that there is a ketchup recipe in Nourishing Traditions so I can make one that’s actually good for him. Yay!

This is the little boy that I got addicted to pancakes every morning. It all started when I learned about chocolate chip waffles with butter and immediately became addicted. I tried to make healthier versions for the little boy, but he wouldn’t eat them. The waffles turned into chocolate chip pumpkin pancakes this last winter, because he wouldn’t eat squash and I had loads of pumpkin in my freezer. I hoped the pumpkin pancakes would get him to accept the flavor of pumpkin. Well, like I said, I had a lot of pumpkin, and these pancakes were even better than the waffles. I knew they weren’t the best thing, but when you wake up groggy in the morning and chocolate chip pumpkin pancakes is exactly what you are craving…well, if you’re me, you make them.

Then I ran out of pumpkin, but the pancake addiction was so ingrained that I had to get creative. I made pancakes with sweet potatoes and yams (other foods he normally wouldn’t eat), bananas, yogurt–all with the chocolate chips added, of course. By this time I was well aware that we needed more protein in our breakfast, and the easiest way to add protein was to do eggs. I made the occasional omelet, which sometimes he ate, and sometimes not. But omelets made me feel a little ill. In fact, eggs for breakfast have always made me feel a little funny. But I kept trying, for the protein, you know. Also tried sausage, which didn’t have the best effect on me, either.

My little guy also wasn’t excited about eggs. He very rarely ate a whole scrambled egg. I got so desperate for him to get enough protein that I actually started feeding him myself or insisting he take a bite of egg before he got something else–hoping he would develop more of a taste for eggs. This is not my way of food parenting at all. Luckily he wasn’t fighting it (I would never have forced him), but I want him to be choosing what he puts in his mouth (I might choose what goes on the plate, but he chooses what goes in his mouth). So, anyway, I scraped that.

Our grocery store recently started selling pasture eggs (eggs from hens that are allowed to run around on actual grass and eat bugs–haha, yes! chickens aren’t vegetarians!) and the eggs taste better and are definitely more nutritious being from hens fed a more natural diet. My stomach seems to be tolerating these eggs better. They certainly taste better. Still, they weren’t calling to my little boy.

So, a few days ago, while I was making him an egg, he saw the ketchup in the refrigerator and said he wanted it for his eggs. I hate giving him ketchup but supposed it was worth it if it made eggs palatable for him. Well, not only did he finish the egg, but he asked for more! He ate two eggs! They were smaller eggs, but still! I was just amazed. This had never happened before. Oh, the powers of ketchup.

Today I cooked up two eggs off the bat, and he ate them up. With ketchup, of course.

This plate was nearly full when he started.

Now I’ve just gotta make our own ketchup.

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Cassie says:

    Yeah with ketchup is ok, like you said just make the one from the book. Or get TJ ketchup, it has some sugar but at least not hfcs. There’s a primal ketchup recipe but it’s probably exactly the same as the one in your book.
    I still buy the organic eggs instead of pastured. I probably should get pastured but I still have that weird feeling from when I got all grossed out during pregnancy. Plus the cost. We need to figure out how much we can afford and what things we have to cut back on. Back to budgeting now, again.

  2. Cassie says:

    When I started to have eggs instead of my usual oat meal I felt weird too.

  3. Eggs make me feel weird too! When I was a small child, eggs made me want to throw up. So why do I have 17 hens???? John wanted them. Eggs are good to have on hand to mix into different recipes.

    1. Lisa C says:

      How weird is that? Maybe your homegrown eggs will be better. And yeah, you’re crazy with all those hens. Lol

Leave a Reply

