A Traditional Breakfast: Porridge

The basic foods of these [isolated Gaelic] islanders are fish and oat products with a little barley. Oat grain is the one cereal which develops fairly readily, and it provides the porridge and oatcakes which in many homes are eaten in some form regularly with each meal…. [We saw] fisher people with teeth of unusual perfection…. It would be difficult to find examples of womanhood combining a higher degree of physical perfection….

Nutrition and Physical Degeneration by Weston Price, side note to Breakfast Porridge recipe in Nourishing Traditions

I had a successful first attempt at breakfast porridge! We love our eggs and bacon, but need to switch off every couple of days. I’m trying not to make pancakes right now, since I can’t pre-soak the mix (I’ve tried twice, it just doesn’t turn out). I had some steel cut oats in my cupboard and decided to try the first whole grain recipe in Nourishing Traditions.

It calls for rolled or cracked oats, so I guess I kind of cheated–I did not roll or crack the oats. I hope that’s okay. It tasted good, anyway.

1 c. oats, rolled or cracked

1 c. warm filtered water plus 2 T whey, yogurt, kefir or buttermilk

1/2 t. sea salt

1 c. filtered water

Soak oats in warm water mixture for 7-24 hours, covered. (Mine soaked for about 10). Boil the one cup of water with salt. Add soaked oats, lower heat, and simmer for several minutes (I cooked them till I liked the consistency).

I put the oats to soak in a warm water and whey mixture before bed last night.

She recommends serving with plenty of butter or cream and a natural sweetener. I added some butter (you’ll want to use unsalted unless you want really salty porridge–or omit the salt from the cooking water), a bit of maple syrup, whole milk, walnuts, and blueberries. It had a very rich flavor–very different from the oatmeal I am used to eating.

Adding fat like butter or cream is important for absorbing nutrients. It also helps slow down digestion, which is really important if you consume a high-glycemic food like oats. It would have been even better to add some protein to this meal as well.

Wasn’t sure how the little boy was going to take to it, but he immediately started gobbling it up. I doubt he likes it as much as pancakes, though.

2 thoughts on “A Traditional Breakfast: Porridge

Leave a Reply

