Struggle & Success Saturday: My Kitchen Laboratory

My kitchen has turned into some weird science lab wherein raw cow milk ferments in various ways in jars and bowls, and sometimes mixes with other foods, like grains and fruit. Some of it’s turned out…some not. I’m a little sad when something doesn’t work out–a waste of food, and it makes me feel a little incompetent. But these are the basics of traditional eating…if I want to be able to make some of the other stuff in the book, then I’ve got to get these mastered. Plus, if I can master fermentation, then I will be able to provide my family with enzyme and healthy bacteria-rich food that will improve digestion (and considering good digestion is the basis of good health, that’s a big deal). You can’t just buy this stuff at the store because everything is pasteurized (you can find cultured dairy, but it will be pre-pasteurized, so half the good stuff is gone), so I really, really want to master these “basics.”

So here’s what I’ve tried so far…

YOGURT: A flop. I used raw milk, heated it up like the recipe said, then mixed in some organic yogurt from the store. Put it in a warm oven, turned off, and let it sit. In the end, I had some weird, curdled, separated concoction.

WHEY and CREAM CHEESE: I was not to let that weird concoction go to waste. I strained it and got some cultured whey that I could use for soaking grains. The remaining product was supposed to be cream cheese. It was really weird–the taste was good, but the texture was bizarre. I also made whey and cream a second time following the raw milk recipe and the whey was fine…the cream cheese was even stranger. Feeling like I may never attempt more difficult cheeses.

CULTURED BUTTER and BUTTERMILK: Success! Twice! Well, butter is so easy, I don’t know how I could have gone wrong. However, my first buttermilk went bad before I could use it. 😦

SOAKED PANCAKES: Not a recipe in the book. We just love our pancakes so much I had to try it. The problem is that it’s a mix, so the baking soda is already in it, and the soaking probably deactivates it. Maybe one day I will try making pancakes from scratch with soaked grains.

SOAKED PORRIDGE: Success! Followed recipe in book. Very yummy.

LACTO-FERMENTED BERRY PRESERVES: Um…the jury is still out on this one. It was super easy, but smelled strong and weird. I have no idea if I did it right.

Hopefully I will get posts up for each of these soon!

4 thoughts on “Struggle & Success Saturday: My Kitchen Laboratory

  1. Lol I love the title.
    I want to try making yogurt. But I’ve been with out it so long I’m a little scared about how it would make me feel and if it would effect Taryn. It’s cool about the fermenting jam I’m really curious about what that tastes like. I wonder what else I could ferment. Maybe I should buy the starter things and make coconut yogurt.

  2. I think I want to get a yogurt maker or something with better temperature control. I guess one of the easiest things to make is kefir, and you can make kefir water. I bet you could make coconut kefir, too. If you want to try veggies, there is this ginger carrot recipe in the book. It’s supposed to be a good one for beginners, and probably the first veggie one I will do. Anyway, I’ll for sure be sharing my experiments here. 🙂

  3. Hi Lisa: Thanks for sharing your experiences with fermentation. Good for you for doing it!!! I’m going to start soon!!

Leave a Reply

