Tomato-Dill Soup

After I made my salsa the other day, my husband told me that his mom was making and freezing tomato soup with all her homegrown tomatoes. So just two days after my salsa-making, I went back into the garden and picked all the ripe tomatoes…I had seven pounds of them! I was a little amazed, as this was more tomatoes than I got in all of last summer (this was the first summer that I actually did any gardening myself–before it was always hubby caring for the garden after work and on weekends–clearly tomatoes respond well to extra love and attention).

I decided to try the tomato-dill soup recipe found on page 220 of Nourishing Traditions. It was a wise choice: Best tomato soup I have ever had.

I could not find fresh dill as the recipe called for, so I used dried. Neither could I find green peppercorns (except mixed in with red, white and black peppercorns), so I just grated some black pepper. I also didn’t serve the soup with piima cream or créme fraiche, but rather used plain old raw milk at room temperature. Here’s my version of the recipe:

(approx 6 servings)

2 medium onions (I used sweet), chopped

3 celery stalks, chopped

3 tablespoons butter

8 medium tomatoes or equivalent, peeled, seeded and chopped

2 1/2 cups homemade chicken stock, with fat

fresh ground pepper (about 4-5 cranks on the pepper mill)

1 tsp sea salt

1 tbsp dried dill

raw milk, room temperature

Peel tomatoes (see salsa post for instructions on how to peel tomatoes). Sauté coarsely chopped onions and celery in butter. Add tomatoes and stock.

Bring to a boil and skim scum that rises to the top. (I had never skimmed soup before this, but it’s supposed to remove impurities, enhance the appearance, and maybe even improve the taste? Apparently, it’s what gourmet chefs do, so I say do it.) Add pepper and simmer 15 minutes. Then, add the dill. Put the soup in a blender (mine got quite full and was difficult to manage, so you may wish to split it and do it twice).

Pulse until desired consistency (it’s supposed to be a purée, but I left it with tiny chunks and we liked it that way). From here you can easily pour it into bowls, which I did, but then I put the rest back into the pot because I worry about yucky stuff leaching from plastic containers.

Add a bit of milk (or your preferred cultured dairy liquid). Enjoy!

(Just so you know, you will crave grilled cheese sandwiches like madness when you have this, so be prepared.)

One thought on “Tomato-Dill Soup

  1. So did you guys have the grilled cheese? Or is that all you had for dinner?? I would be hungry with just soup. It looks really tasty. I’m not a huge dill fan so I would have rather put something else in. But the rest of it would really suit my tastes!! Especially the pepper corns!

Leave a Reply

