Garden Planning

click on image for source

I just ordered my seeds for this year’s garden from Seed Savers Exchange. I ordered from them for three main reasons:

  1. They sell only heirloom seeds. Heirloom seeds can be saved from the plant, which means they are self-sustaining. You don’t have to buy new seeds every year. Instead, you save the seeds from the best performing plants and best-tasting fruit. This way you can develop seeds that are custom-made to your soil.
  2. They are non-profit. I love supporting businesses with a mission I can get behind. Theirs is to preserve the diverse, but endangered, heirloom plants of North America’s heritage. They encourage people to share their seeds. They are not about making big bucks. Their prices are good, too.
  3. The variety. They don’t actually have the hugest variety–not like the big companies–but what they offer looks really good. And they actually have a lot of tomato varieties, which is my favorite to grow. Aside from vegetable seeds they sell herb, flower, garlic and others.

I actually think I heard about Seed Savers from reading Farm City. That’s a great book, by the way. It’s what got me serious about gardening in the first place. Not that I really know what I’m doing, but at least I’m getting my hands in the soil.

I ordered more varieties than I could fit in our gardening spot. Hubby hasn’t given me much to work with. I’ve complained a lot. We have lots of grass because he wants our boy to have space to run around, but there is plenty of grass on the big side of the yard, in my opinion. If anyone has any ideas for space-saving gardening, please send them my way! Also if you know of a decorative way to garden so that I could utilize my front yard without it actually looking like a vegetable garden, please share. I’m desperate for more space.

So what will I be growing (er, attempting to grow)? Four varieties of tomatoes (tried to find early ones since it seems cold weather always hits when my tomatoes are only half-done), one variety of watermelon that’s supposed to be super sweet, a butternut, snap peas (they grow on poles, so they don’t take up too much space, whoo!), kale, brussels sprouts (hubby won’t like that, lol), huckleberry (hubby will like that), cabbage, carrots, radishes, arugula, beets (golden, my favorite!), and I think there may be some other seeds lying around here somewhere…

I truly don’t have space for all these, so I guess we’ll see what happens.

5 thoughts on “Garden Planning

  1. How fun! I can’t wait to hear how you get on with your gardening adventures. I don’t know what your front yard is like, but maybe growing fruits and berries in pots (depending on the size of the plant of course), so it still looks like a yard but has pretties in pots??

  2. Thanks, Carin, I may toy with that idea. I am thinking of growing something along the border between our yard and our neighbors. I’m just not too familiar with what everything looks like in the ground (real gardening novice here), and I don’t want it to look like I have a row of weeds! lol I’m sure others have managed to do this, if only I could see some examples…hmmm, maybe I could check Pinterest…

  3. You could plant some blueberry bushes in your front yard. Other good choices would be strawberries as a ground cover, which is what I have in my front yard. I have often seen cabbages used in landscaping. At the USDA building in DC they had an all veggie landscaping and it was really pretty. Kale and okra stand out as good decorative bedding plants. Rainbow swiss chard would be beautiful and functional. Kohlrabi is fast growing and delicious and not as large as most brassicas. I really have tons of ideas.

    1. That’s awesome, Carrie! Thank you! I did get some kale seeds, so I will try to put them out front. We do have gooseberry bushes in the front (not the prettiest, except in the fall), and lots of blueberries in the back. We have strawberries in back, but that’s a great idea to put the out front (hubby put them in pots last winter, so it really shouldn’t be a big deal to plant them out front instead of out back. Let’s just hope a deer doesn’t find our food! We live in suburbia, but we still get the odd wildlife.

Leave a Reply

