Lacto-fermented Ginger Carrots

Almost five years ago I tried making fermented veggies for the first time–sauerkraut with carrots–in an effort to help heal my body from Candida albicans. I used a very traditional method which required fermenting for 7 days and used no whey. It was so potent that I couldn’t handle it. At all. I dumped it out and years later the container I used still reeked of fermented cabbage. Bleh.

I think Nourishing Traditions was written for people like me. The fermentation times in the book are much shorter, which I think will suit me better. “Ginger Carrots” is recommended as the best introduction to lacto-fermented vegetables, so I decided to give it whirl.

4 cups grated carrots, tightly packed

1 Tbsp freshly grated ginger

1 Tbsp sea salt

4 Tbsp whey

The first step is to mix all ingredients in a bowl and pound with a wooden pounder or meat hammer to release juices.I have neither a pounder or a meat hammer, so I had to use a wooden spoon to pound the carrots. It took a while.

When I finally gave up, I pressed all the carrots into a quart-sized jar, at which point I realized I probably didn’t have quite as much carrots as the recipe called for.

I pressed the carrots down as well as I could with my wooden spoon, trying to drown them in their own juices, but soon realized I would need to top it of with a bit of salt water to ensure the carrots were completely covered. The salt and the water prevent nasty stuff from growing.

I screwed on the cap tightly and left it in the corner of the kitchen counter for three days before sticking it in the fridge.

It was a while later before I got brave enough to taste it. I found the flavor to be strong but not overpowering like my attempt at sauerkraut had been so many years ago. It was tolerable. Now I realize I probably needed more carrots so maybe next time it will be milder. I have been eating a small dollop on the side of my eggs in the morning. I do think it is helping me digest my food better. I just wish I actually liked it.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Carrie says:

    I agree that many of the recipes/advice for fermenting give fermentation times that are WAY too long. My favorite book for fermenting veggies is NOT Nourishing Traditions as I have found the advice to add whey often creates a slimy mess. The only time I use whey is for things like Salsa, Mayo, and Ketchup. Check out Sandor Katz’s “Wild Fermentation.” Following his advice I have consistently created awesome ferments. His website is pretty cool too: http://www.wildfermentation.com/

    I have found that buying a commercial sauerkraut like Bubbies and using the juice as a starter also helped make excellent ferments.

    1. Lisa C says:

      Awesome, thank you!! I’ve actually heard of Wild Fermentation but I don’t know where. I’m so grateful to benefit from all your experience, Carrie. If you weren’t for you, we might not even be doing GAPS. I may never have bought Nourishing Traditions and learned about Weston A Price. 🙂

Leave a Reply

