Flourless Chocolate Cake

on

This recipe is is vegetarian, gluten-free, non-strict paleo and non-strict GAPS friendly.

I try to limit my chocolate intake these days. Some consider dark chocolate to be healthful, but I don’t, and neither does the Weston A Price Foundation, and while I don’t speak for them, I find their collective traditional wisdom to be something I trust overall. Nevertheless, a little chocolate here and there seems reasonable to me.

And sometimes you just have that craving for cake. And sometimes you have extra eggs to use up. Today was one of those days.

This recipe is adapted from one posted on Kelly the Kitchen Cop which she got from someone named Sonia. This recipe was actually shared with me by my friend Cassie who got it from her friend Holly. In other words, it’s a good one. I used to make it just the way the recipe calls for, but I no longer eat cane sugar, so I’ve adapted it to use honey as a sweetener. I also use less chocolate (it’s still very chocolaty).

Flourless Chocolate Cake

12 ounces unsweetened chocolate

8 ounces butter (salted, or add your own salt)

8 cold eggs

1/2 cup honey

Preheat oven to 325° F.

Using a double boiler, melt the chocolate and butter. As it’s melting, beat the eggs until double in size. Once the chocolate and butter are melted, mix in the honey (more or less may be adding according to taste). Slowly fold melted chocolate mixture into the eggs. Mix well.

Pour batter into a greased 9 inch circular pan. Place cake pan into a larger pan, such as a rectangular baking dish and place into preheated oven. Using hot water from double boiler, pour into larger pan, being careful not to splash into cake pan, until water reaches about halfway up the sides of the cake pan.

Bake for 45-50 minutes. Allow to cool before serving. May be served with whipped cream, berries, and/or melted sweetened chocolate.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Brenda says:

    Should you beat the eggs before folding chocolate mixture into them?

    1. Lisa C says:

      Yes, beat until doubled in size.

Leave a Reply

