Gingerbread Cookies

At church choir practice today, everyone was gushing over these gingerbread cookies someone had brought. I had been fasting and just did not want to know how good they were.

When I got home, I decided to one-up those cookies–at least in the eyes of my four-year-old. We didn’t just make boring, round gingerbread cookies–we made gingerbread men! (and women.)

I found a terrific recipe that uses almond flour instead of wheat flour, and date sugar instead of cane sugar. You know, I think these might even possibly be better than regular gingerbread cutter cookies. I was very happy that they really did turn out as cutter cookies should–firm, but moist, and not expanding while baking.

Grain-free GAPS paleo gingerbread men cookies

Grain-free GAPS paleo gingerbread men cookies

I used almond slivers, sliced raisins and ends cut off of walnuts (for the eyes) to decorate. I was surprised how cute they turned out.

Grain-free GAPS paleo gingerbread men cookies

The Little Boy was very pleased with his cookie. He even showed it to the neighbors before he bit into it.Grain-free GAPS paleo gingerbread men cookies

One Comment Add yours

  1. sharpcas says:

    Those look so yummy!!

Leave a Reply

