What We Need is Healing

image by sommai
photo credit: sommai

I have a very long To Do list today, so I really don’t have time for writing this, but my thoughts beg to be written out.

Six days ago, there was a shooting at the mall that is five minutes from our house. It was shocking to hear of a tragedy so close to home, and strange to have my husband and my friend checking in on me to make sure my little boy and I had not gone to the mall that day. But that didn’t affect me or the rest of the nation nearly as much as what happened just three days later at an elementary school in a quiet little town in Connecticut.

I could barely handle the news. So many children. Wonderful teachers. Their poor parents, their poor families. I felt such deep sorrow for them. I felt deep sorrow for the families of those killed just a few days prior, too, of course, but the children, oh, the children! I hugged my little boy as I watched the news. I am one giant step closer to homeschooling him.

In the midst of this terrible tragedy, I am annoyed of the talk about gun control. Families are grieving, and people are seriously having arguments about gun laws??

I think, if anything, it is more appropriate to talk of how ill our country is. We’ve been on a steep moral decline for many years now. It just keeps getting worse. There are more and more broken families. There are more and more broken people. Evil seems to be everywhere.

But, what if the young men who did these killings were not evil? What if they were experiencing  psychotic side effects to antidepressant drugs?

On Saturday, I came across this old news video completely by accident, while I was listening to YouTube videos of the Christmas carol “I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day.” I have no idea why it came up, but I found it very enlightening to what may be going on with these random acts of violence. The boy in the video took a rifle to school and held his classmates hostage. He has no memory of the event whatsoever. He was not a violent kid. His father is certain the medication his son was on is what caused his violent behavior.

All over Facebook, I am seeing this other perspective on the possible cause to these shootings. Mostly, they are coming from people who understand how important nutrition is to mental health, who also understand how dangerous prescriptions can be. Here is a video with Michael Moore’s thoughts on the medication connection to shootings.

This article lists 10 murders and 13 school shootings that have been associated with prescription drug use, particularly antidepressants. This article lists the top ten violence inducing prescription drugs.

Shootings have been called an epidemic in the country. The government is swift to use the tragedies to try to enact new gun laws. In my opinion, creating new gun laws would be the equivalent to putting a bandage over a festering wound without treating it first. It won’t solve the problem, and is the opinion of some that it would only make things worse. I personally do not want to lose my constitutional right to protect myself.

But I don’t want to talk about guns. I want to talk about the real issue: People who are hurting. I can’t help but wonder how much of this suffering is caused by inadequate nutrition. I know that isn’t the full cause of the problem, but I believe it is a major part of it. What if these troubled souls, instead of being prescribed psychiatric drugs, were given prescriptions for vitamin D, omega-3 fatty acids, and magnesium? What if they were fully evaluated to discover what nutritional deficiencies they might have? What if they were counseled on how to eat a well-balanced, nourishing diet? In addition to that, they could be given psychological counseling if they still need it.

This whole thing reminds me of one of my own stories. I used to suffer from major depression off and on starting from my teen years and all through my 20’s. I remember one day in my mid-twenties just feeling really down. I had been feeling gloomy for a while. I can’t remember if it was while I was dating my husband or after I married him, but I know he was in my life, and that was a very good thing. My life was really, really good. But I was down. I had a co-worker who was annoyed with me for being down when my life was obviously so good. I couldn’t make him understand what it was like to feel depressed for no reason whatsoever. This type of depression is real, however, and it’s my belief that it is caused by nutritional deficiencies. How many people in this world suffer needlessly for the simple reason that they don’t know how to eat well? I really, really wonder how things would be different if Big Agra and Big Pharma actually cared about people instead of wealth. If instead of pushing products on people, we could be educating them on how to be healthy. If they would actually pull their products when people started dying because of them.

My heart goes out to those who lost their loved ones through these recent tragedies. How will they handle Christmas without their little ones? Their mothers? Their fathers? I pray that they will be able to have some peace, and I pray that more people will wake up to the reality of the world we live in and do their bit to make things better, and remember to take the time to hold their children closer, to say I love you more, and to simply be together with the ones they love.

Leave a Reply

