Product Review: Paleo Treats

Paleo diet gluten free desserts and paleo cookiesA little while ago a box of goodies was sent to me from Paleo Treats. They asked me to write a review if I liked them. Well, I do like them, so here’s my review!

Paleo Treats are made with ingredients allowed on the Paleo Diet. I think there is some debate out there whether chocolate is really paleo, but I think the general rule is that once in a while it’s okay. Chocolate is okay for some people on the GAPS diet, too, and all the other ingredients in these treats are GAPS-friendly.

Cacao Now!

The Cacao Now! is the closest thing I’ve experienced to a chocolate bar that I’ve had since cutting cane sugar out of my diet. It’s like someone poured delicious honey-sweetened dark chocolate into a short cupcake wrapper and then topped it with nuts and dried fruit. I think I may want to stock up on these for those times when I really just want chocolate. This would be my favorite Paleo Treat because I just love dark chocolate.

Brownie Bomb

The Brownie Bomb would be my next favorite Paleo Treat. I have a weakness for brownies. I used to get those Little Debbie brownies all the time. Something about an individually wrapped brownie is just really tempting for me. I was pleasantly surprised how tasty this brownie was. It is better than Little Debbie’s and better than any paleo or GAPS brownie I’ve made myself.

Mustang Bar

Beware, the Mustang Bar is very sweet! It’s like a paleo trail mix stuck together with honey, coconut oil and almond butter. It’s so rich. I love the pumpkin seeds in it. You have to keep this one cold or the coconut oil will try to escape.

Mac Attack

This one was my least favorite but if you love coconut then it’s for you. It’s like a big cocoa macaroon. I love the cacao nibs in it.

All in all, I really liked these, and I can be pretty picky about quality. I got two of each and stuck some in my fridge and some in my freezer. I tried not to eat them all right away, but they still didn’t last too long. In fact, my greatest reluctance to buying more is that I’m afraid I won’t be able to ration them very well. They are a bit pricey, but I can see my local health food store selling something similar for the same price, and at least I know Paleo Treats is using high quality ingredients that are safe for me to eat.

“We use the finest ingredients we can find, we keep it local as much as possible and while we’re focused on selling “healthy” cookies, if they don’t taste the same or better than their standard equivalent, we won’t make it.” ~ Paleo Treats

My two favorite things about these treats: #1 I didn’t have to make it. #2 They don’t make me feel sick afterward despite tasting just as good as treats that do. 😉 Obviously, my verdict is that I recommend Paleo Treats.

Leave a Reply

