What I Wish I Had Known About Nourishing Babies

Before I became pregnant with my son, I tried to prep myself for the healthiest pregnancy possible. I worked out and got in shape. I followed a Candida diet for several months to get my yeast problem under control. I read pregnancy and birthing books. I weaned off of Prozac because I wanted a drug-free pregnancy. I finished school, quit my job, and only worked on things that were enjoyable to me, keeping my stress levels nice and low. Having a good pregnancy and a healthy baby were very important to me.

When I first got pregnant, I was eating probably the healthiest I had my whole life. And I don’t mean the American idea of healthy, but I was actually eating a lot of butter, whole fat plain yogurt, shrimp, greens, nuts, eggs, and modest amounts of whole grains and a reasonable amount of meat, which I always got from the health food store. I actually think this is why I got pregnant so easily–I was eating a lot of fertility foods, and I didn’t even know it.

The first several weeks of pregnancy went great. I thought I’d be one of the lucky ones who didn’t get morning sickness. But then it hit, and when it hit, it hit hard. The first thing I threw up was a spinach salad with goat cheese. Needless to say, I didn’t eat spinach or goat cheese again for a very long time. In fact, I didn’t eat hardly any vegetables for a long time. Or meat. Or eggs. Or anything else that was really good for growing a healthy baby.

I had thought it was going to be easy to eat well while pregnant because I had already been doing it. But my extreme morning sickness kept me from eating pretty much all real food. Instead, I went into survival mode. I ate pretzels and crackers because they were easier to keep down. I had no shame in eating chocolate cookies when I realized they tasted better coming back up than other foods did. Almost all my nutrition came from commercial nutritional smoothies, a highly-processed food fortified with synthetic vitamins. I hoped these smoothies would nourish my baby despite my now deplorable diet.

The day before my first appointment with the midwife, I went to the ER for dehydration because I couldn’t keep anything down that day. I was put on an anti-nausea medication that I had to take as a suppository because I couldn’t even keep a pill down (I am pretty sure I had hyperemesis gravidarum except I was able to avoid weight-loss through the drugs and the high-calorie nutritional shakes). When I went into my midwife appointment the next day, the nurse who was assisting told me to just stop taking my vitamins. I thought she was crazy, but she told me that babies are very good “parasites” and will get what they need. I don’t know why I actually listened to her because I knew the vitamins weren’t causing my nausea. But I did. Later on, someone else (probably a midwife) told me to take prenatal vitamins, so I bought some cheap ones at Walmart. The multivitamin I was originally taking was actually much higher quality, and here I was taking cheap prenatals. But it didn’t really matter, right? Because my baby was a parasite taking everything it needed from me. Right??

I wish.

I wish someone had told me that the more nutrients I took in during pregnancy, the better formed my baby would be. I wish I had known that women need a very high amount of nutrition in order to give their baby the best possible health that would affect their whole life.

I wish I had known that eating plenty of protein at regular intervals throughout the day helps keep morning sickness at bay and is extremely important in avoiding preeclampsia, which I was thought to be at risk for. I wish I had known how important protein was to keeping blood volume where it needed to be and growing a baby.

I wish I had understood why I was getting heartburn so early on my pregnancy (the poor food choices and lack of healthy gut flora), and why it kept getting worse despite trying several medications (antacids only deepen the problem of acid reflux).

I wish I knew how beneficial raw milk was and had safe raw milk at my disposal. I wish I knew about pastured eggs. I wish I knew how to make my own nutritional smoothies that were made with real food.

I wish I knew that taking a magnesium supplement before and during pregnancy would have helped with liver function and reduced the chance of morning sickness. I wish I had known that a magnesium supplement would also have reduced my chances of having preeclampsia.

I wish I had known much earlier in my pregnancy that vitamin B6 helps prevent morning sickness. In fact, I wish I had known how important all the B vitamins were in pregnancy.

I wish I knew that the very foods I was consuming to help deal with morning sickness, not only perpetuated the problem, but deprived my baby of important nutrients.

I wish I had known the importance of certain fats and fat-soluble vitamins such as A, D and K2 for the development of the baby’s brain and facial structure during pregnancy. I wish I had known there was a way to prevent the need for future orthodontic treatments! (Because guess what, breastfeeding sure didn’t do the trick!)

I wish I didn’t ever read The Girlfriend’s Guide to Pregnancy which told me it was okay if I never exercised while I was pregnant. I wish I had understood just how important exercise during pregnancy really was.

I wish people didn’t tell me not to worry about my diet. I wish my doctors could have instead advised me on proper prenatal nutrition instead of waiting for my body to fall apart so they could come in and “rescue” me.

***

I ended up bringing home a “healthy” baby. A “healthy” baby that spent his first three days in the NICU and had to be kept away from people the first several weeks of his life. A “healthy” baby whose head was only in the 25th percentile, while his weight was in the 50th and his length 75th. Did you know that a baby who is well-nourished in-utero will have a good-sized, nicely-shaped head? I wish I did.

My “healthy” baby had a lot of trouble breastfeeding for two solid months. I don’t think I can blame this purely on my nutrition while pregnant, but I can’t help but wonder if his development in-utero affected his ability to breastfeed well.

My “healthy” baby didn’t get sick much and had a good temperament, but when he started sitting up around 7 months old, he had poor posture. I had ignored the advice to administer vitamin D drops because the natural parenting community I was involved with insisted that babies have enough from mom until six months or so and after that they can get enough from the sun. I started getting him in the sun soon after he was born to help build up his stores. I wish I had known that I was probably extremely vitamin D deficient when I was pregnant with him. After I finally started giving him D drops, he finally started getting some teeth, which were very late coming in, and over time his posture improved. I wish I had known that my baby could be born with a vitamin D deficiency if I was deficient. I wish I had known that mother’s milk doesn’t always provide everything the baby needs.

I wish I had known about the Weston A Price diet for breastfeeding mothers. Instead, I ate poorly and suffered deeply because of it. While I have always had mood problems, I had them “under control” before I had my son. Afterwards, I became ten times worse. And I had no energy. Not just for months, but for years after having my son, and I eventually was overcome by adrenal fatigue. If someone had told me about this wonderfully nutrient-dense diet, I could have saved myself a lot of heartache. I could have been a better parent. My baby would have likely enjoyed better nutrition from my milk. Maybe he even wouldn’t have dropped so far down on the growth charts.

I wish I had known the proper way to introduce solids to my child. I had heard of delaying solids and was very intrigued by that idea. Apparently it was a natural thing to do. I loved breastfeeding, I believed breastfeeding supplied everything a baby needed, so I thought maybe this was a nice idea. It turns out that breastmilk only supplies everything for about the first six months, and that is if the mother is eating a sufficient diet. Thankfully, I decided to listen to my son’s cues instead, and started feeding him solids right around six months. But I didn’t know what to feed him! I had heard of baby-led weaning, which allows baby to choose what he wants and feed himself, no purees involved. But I wondered how a baby could possibly digest food well that wasn’t pureed. Gumming food only does so much. I went back and forth a lot and ended up on a combo approach to feeding him, including pre-chewing some food for him, but honestly who cares what method you use if aren’t feeding the right foods?? We mostly avoided grains because they didn’t seem like nutrient-dense food to me, and I didn’t want him addicted to them like so many babies I had known. We avoided pasteurized milk, except for whole fat yogurt. We avoided sugar like it was evil. We gave fresh fruit and vegetables, meat, and I tried to give him some fatty foods. But his diet was lacking in all the “super” foods! I wish I had known to give him egg yolks, liver, broth, fish eggs, and even more fat.

Attempt at feeding him pureed spinach.
Attempt at feeding him pureed raw spinach. Not a first food I will be offering my next baby.

I wish I had known about properly preparing grains, too, because as I slowly introduced grains to him, my “healthy” baby started having mood problems. My “healthy” baby had weak digestion, just like his mama. The winter my son turned 2.5, he was literally sick with something or another every other week and had a very volatile mood. At age three I discovered he had food sensitivities that were likely caused by compromised gut health and began working to restore his gut and overall health using the GAPS diet as well as following WAPF guidelines. This was a turnaround point for my son’s health, during which he went from a “healthy” child to an actually healthy child. He may not be as hardy as a child whose genes were developed on a traditional diet, but now at almost age five, he’s doing really well.

I’m grateful I learned about traditional foods while he was still little. I’m grateful I know better for the next one. I’m grateful I know now for my own health and well-being.  But looking back, I can see there is a lot of misinformation and ignorance about the importance of eating well before (men included in the before), during and after pregnancy, while breastfeeding, and how to feed babies solids. To think of the health problems we could avoid!

***

I am happy to announce that Nourishing Our Children, a resource that has helped me learn how to nourish my body as well as my child’s, is having a week-long promotion of their educational materials, which are available for 50% off during this time. This is purely coincidental to my writing this post! I highly recommend taking advantage of this special offer if you wish to learn how to truly nourish your children. They make it so easy to understand how to eat before and during pregnancy and while breastfeeding, and how to nourish your little ones with nutrient-dense food. I will be writing another post in the next couple of days to explain more, but you can look for yourself now what is included in this promotion.

35 thoughts on “What I Wish I Had Known About Nourishing Babies

  1. Great article! Yes, I did a lot of things right, but I hear you on going into survival mode. For me it was mainly after the birth. I was used to fixing real foods from scratch and suddenly I had this needy, clingy, hungry baby and couldn’t even get myself a drink or go to the bathroom. Sometimes I even had good stuff in the fridge but there was no way for me to get it out and warm it up (or if I did it would end up burning). When it came down to it, yes, I would grab a convenience food such as a packaged bar, still better than most people’s choices but not really ideal. Eat something or starve. And then we started having health problems. I forgive myself. It was the best I could do at the time.

    1. Yes! I lived off of protein bars those first few weeks. Now I wouldn’t even touch those! Next time I better have some real food convenience foods handy. It’s a shame new mothers aren’t taken care of like they are in other cultures. I’ve promised myself I will do all I can to help any future daughter/daughter-in-law I may have when she has children!

      1. thanks Lisa for sharing what you wish you had known, it is really helpful to me. However, what exactly would you have done? In terms of feeding yourself and feeding your baby?

        one thing i don’t quite understand is that you were eating an abundance of fertility foods before your morning sickness kicked in, and you exercised and got in shape, shouldn’t that give you some good stores? and what would you have done to tackle morning sickness if you really just can’t stomach anything real?

      2. Hi Joyce, thanks for your comment. I think I am truly fortunate to have eaten a decent diet in the months before getting pregnant with my son, as well as gotten in shape. I am sure it gave me some advantage. After all, my son was born reasonably (though not “robustly” healthy) with no known birth defects, unless you count something like a not fully formed jaw and palate as a birth defect (Dr Price called these deformations). However, I would have done well to eat a nutrient-dense diet for at least a couple years before getting pregnant, as well as addressed my gut health issue, and then ramped up the fertility foods such as liver about six months before getting pregnant. I think with these kinds of nutrient stores the effects of severe morning sickness would be minimized.

        I’m currently 15 weeks pregnant with my second child. While I did not eat the ideal before becoming pregnant this time (not as much liver and fish eggs as I should probably have eaten, for example), I had eaten a really good diet for two years prior, always trying to add in more nutrient dense foods. I feel this will go a long way to giving my baby the best health possible. I am concerned that my genetic flaws may not be easily overcome by nutrition–the deeper the flaw is engrained in the genetic code, the more nutrition is required to repair it. That’s a lot of nutritional pressure! I am trying my best though. I’m just grateful for the information I now have. I can make decisions based on good information rather than poor information or a lack of information. And now I have a good deal of traditional foods culinary experience that I lacked in my previous pregnancy (I know how to make a variety of healthy and tasty foods that at least somewhat appeal to me in pregnancy).

        As for morning sickness. I’m not gonna lie, I’ve gotten it this time around, too, but it’s not nearly as debilitating. I believe improving my health prior to pregnancy has something to do with it not being as bad. For the past several weeks my appetite has been poor and it’s been hard to find appealing food. Sometimes I wish I could go back to those commercial nutritional smoothies for something easy to fill my tummy. However, I have been managing. I’ve still been able to eat mostly traditional foods and nearly only real food. I am taking food source supplements for insurance. Having things like grassfed raw milk around the house helps a lot. Having a personal chef would help a lot more!!! Sigh. I don’t know what I would do if my body rejected all real food, but I do know that things like ice cream, pudding and chocolate tarts made with nutritious ingredients go down remarkably well!

      3. I should also mention I’ve been doing some things to fight back the morning sickness and I will be writing a post with a LOT of suggestions.

  2. Thank you for your honest and heartfelt article. However, I must add that although you “wish you would have known” all of the above, it wouldn’t have necessarily guaranteed anything. My husband and I had been eating a nutrient-dense WAP diet for years. It included superfoods, raw liver, FCLO, raw milk, pastured eggs, butter, coconut oil, ferments, etc. We were gluten-free and any grains/beans/legumes/seeds we did eat were all properly prepared. I took magnesium supplements (Ancient minerals mag oil) and I had my vitamin D3 levels tested by our chiropractor and the levels were phenomenally high. I had regular chiropractic care and avoided sugar and caffiene. In short, I did everything “right,” but I still ended up with severe hyperemesis gravidarum and was in the ER with dehydration and weight loss. I lost 10% of my body weight and had a BMI of 17 during the pregnancy. Thankfully, our children still ended up with the classic WAP round heads, wide faces, chubby cheeks, and beautiful teeth. But as for me, I feel like I have been through the wringer. “Rode hard and put up wet,” as they say. I was also diagnosed with adrenal fatigue, and despite the super nutrient-dense diet I am still following, I struggle daily with chronic joint pain, fatigue, and an inability to gain weight. This is not meant to be a sob story, but just a reminder that it is all ultimately in the Lord’s hands. We can do everything “right” and it’s still no guarantee that things will go smoothly. Boy, do I wish there was an easy answer like that! 🙂

    1. Angie: Thank you for your story! How amazing that your children turned out so healthy despite your pregnancy troubles. To me that is a testament that the WAPF prenatal diet works. I wonder what caused your severe hyperemesis gravidarum. I wonder what caused my severe morning sickness (because there are plenty of women on terrible diets who don’t get that). I sincerely hope that I don’t get severe morning sickness again, though I dare not hope to have none–just that it will be better, or at least better managed next time. I can barely even hope to have a perfectly developed child, even. I just don’t know if my genetic weaknesses can be corrected in just one generation…but I do hope for a better result next time. At least there is hope, hope that I can make a difference, that there could be an improvement. But if it doesn’t work…well, I believe that health struggles can both humble and strengthen us, and will have to assume there is a higher reason for it.

  3. Thanks for writing of your heartbreaking experience. I can relate. I read Nourishing Traditions and learned of nutrient dense eating a dozen years ago but it was after birthing the last of seven children. At least we were drinking raw milk and eating wild Alaska salmon and game. Now they are learning to cook real food and will be much more well equipped to nourish their own families. That’s worth all my struggles with my health now!

    1. Yes! I intend to fully educate my son on traditional food wisdom, so that he will be able to get his own family started off right some day. If my grandchildren are healthier than my children, I will feel like I’ve made a great accomplishment.

  4. Reblogged this on An Unexpected Joy and commented:
    I’m so glad I’m learning these things before I have children. It’s heartbreaking that society as a whole has dropped the ball when it comes to nutrition and thinking ahead for the next generation.

  5. I think its important to mention that there may have been other factors at play for you and your baby. I had a very similar pregnancy with all 4 of my pregnancies. Severe morning sickness that no remedy could alleviate (believe me, I tried them ALL). Severe vomiting well into the second or third trimester. Weight loss, dehydration. I had been eating a healthy diet similar to yours before becoming pregnant, and ended up eating nothing but commercial high calorie meal replacement shakes, mac and cheese, crackers, canned pasta and soup, and plain white bread for almost the entirety of my pregnancies. I did not take any forms of supplementation as I could not keep them down. With my first, I was sick with worry that I would end up with a sickly, underweight baby. He was born at 9.5lbs, with no complications and no lasting health issues. My smallest baby was 8.5lbs and none of them have had any health issues. I had to spend months recovering weight and health myself, but all my babies were exclusively breastfed and gained weight well. I have tried all of the remedies and preventions you mentioned with no relief from pregnancy sickness. I have long since forgiven myself any blame for the sickness I endured. Nobody knows the cause for all pregnancy sickness, there are only theories. I’ve done significant research into remedies, and none work for me. My pregnancies are hard on me physically and emotionally, and there is nothing I can do about that. But the outcome must be worth it, I keep having more babies! Please stop blaming yourself and your body for the health of your son. While things may have been worse if you didn’t have a good diet before pregnancy, I do not believe that your sickness and the way you handled it caused his issues.

    1. I do not blame myself. Who could I possibly blame for the nutritional degeneration of our society? But to say there is nothing I could have done is to say that I am powerless in affecting my child’s health, and I just do not believe that is so.

      As I mentioned in another comment, I don’t know what caused my severe morning sickness, and I don’t expect to avoid it next time, although I do *hope* it won’t be as bad. Maybe my current diet won’t make any difference on that. I have read that morning sickness can be related to impaired liver function, and I know that I had an overburdened liver last time. I also did not eat nearly enough protein and likely did not have good nutrient stores. I was on a fairly good diet right before pregnancy, but I don’t believe it was sufficient to build up my stores because I know now that I have a tendency toward several nutrient deficiencies. But at least if I get terrible morning sickness again, I can respond differently and I have taken the time to build up my stores this time around. I know so much more about what to feed myself that my healthy options have increased dramatically, and there is likely going to be something nutritious that I can choke down.

      What I understand from reading about epigenetics is that those with good, healthy genes can more easily produce healthy children–these genes would come from both parents, of course. My husband was born with pretty good genes, but has not been very strong on diet, which can weaken the genes he passes on. Those born with weakened genes can strengthen their genes with extra nutrition and then pass on stronger genes to their children than they themselves were born with. However, if a person with already weak genes does not get that extra nutrition, then they will not pass on stronger genes, and could even pass on weaker genes. One can only affect the outcome of gene strength before conception occurs. When I learned about this, it was one of the best news I had ever heard. While I don’t know how much I can affect the health of my next child, I am bound and determined to try. I have been trying my best to eat a preconception diet for over a year, along with improving my gut health so I can absorb all the nutrients. My health is better than it ever was. I have been insisting my husband eat better, although I don’t have control over that. After I conceive, it is up to me to provide optimal nutrition so that my child can then form to the best that his or her genes will allow.

      Do I believe that morning sickness and my terrible prenatal diet caused my son’s health issues? I believe he likely inherited certain genetic weaknesses from me and that my prenatal diet was not ideal for optimal gene expression. I did the best I knew how to at the time, and I take no guilt in it. I only wish that I could have known years prior to conceiving my son that there were things I could have done to improve his outcome. Just as what we eat after we are born affects our health, so does preconception and prenatal nutrition.

  6. Well written post with good anecdotal evidence for people looking into a healthier lifestyle with the possibility of starting GAPS. With that said, I found it a bit inflammatory. The your ” “healthy” ” with quotes is condescending, as you obviously do not know what it’s like to have an truly “unhealthy” child. Is your son autistic? Does he have cerebral palsy? Mitochondrial disease? Probably not if you are writings are complaining about him being “moody”. Just saying….

    1. Hi Ali: This post was written from the heart, and I’m sorry you found my quote marks condescending. They were intended to mean that while he appeared fairly healthy to the outsider, he was definitely not experiencing perfect health. In our society, it is now considered normal to have allergies and food sensitivities, and for children to have wild mood swings, so much so that when I had a concern about my child, I was basically told by people that he was fine and normal, when I knew in my heart that something was off and that there must be something I could do to help him. It seems you are playing down our struggles just like others have. I am aware that my son has not had any serious illness…if he did, I would not have used the term “healthy,” now would I? Nevertheless, it is quite painful to see your little child suffer as mine did. I certainly hope you don’t speak this way to other mothers. It’s hurtful.

      1. Lisa, I understand where your post was coming from and that everything is relative, meaning that our own personal problems are only as big as the bubble that we live in. I’m sorry that you couldn’t handle my honesty, as I truly wasn’t trying to attack you. My goal was to give you a little different perspective. I’m not going to argue your use of the word “healthy”, I stated my feelings and I stand by them. I spend my days assisting parents of children with special needs in nutrition and feeding tubes. My own 4 year old child has severe cerebral palsy, HIE, PVL, IVH, visual impairment, optic nerve atrophy, GERD, DGE, food intolerance, and epilepsy. If you’d like to continue a conversation with me about health, I’m more than willing. Feel free to email me, I wish you well.

      2. I thought I handled your remarks fine. I simply tried to clarify what I meant and pointed out that downplaying the struggles of other mothers can be hurtful (not to mention calling their writing inflammatory and condescending, when it was written from the heart and personal experience).

        I worked with adults with severe developmental disabilities for many years, including some with several physical problems, and even though it’s been several years since I’ve seen them, I think of them often. I’ve also worked with a few special needs children and there are special needs children in my life now. I am aware of many children with terrible illnesses and debilitating health issues. I feel for these children and their parents. Don’t think that I’m not entirely grateful my child was born as healthy as he was. I often remind myself of this. My mom has said many times that she is so grateful that all her children were born healthy (even though my brother was born with a heart defect and I had kidney failure as a young child). I understand my mom’s mentality. We are grateful to have it as good as we do. But that doesn’t mean it hasn’t been difficult at times or that we don’t wish more for our children. It’s not easy to see your sweet child turn into a child you don’t even recognize, who screams and cries at the drop of a hat, who has strange behavior that you swear is seizure-like, who is obviously in psychological pain. And you go through this every day for months on end. And then to have people tell you he’s normal and healthy and not to worry about it.

        I don’t just think of my own child. How many children are thought to have normal health, yet suffer? How many children are thought to be healthy, only to develop surprise health problems down the line? I want all children to have their best shot at health.

      3. Just wanted to say that I agree with you. Each of us has our own road to walk. I am very thankful that my daughter does not have Autism, but that does not mean that her issues with a tongue tie/reflux/poor weight gain (likely caused my my pregnancy diet) were not just as valid and real struggles, just as your struggles, Lisa, with your own child’s health. Ali, you say “you obviously do not know what it’s like to have a truly ‘unhealthy’ child.” How would you know? You have not walked in Lisa’s shoes anymore than she has in yours. My daughter does not have any severe disease, but I was up with her every hour every night for two years because of the issues she did have. It was exhausting, and I worried myself sick. I struggled to feed her for months on end, literally could not put her down day or night because of her issues, that you say should not qualify her as ‘unhealthy.’ This type of attitude between mothers needs to stop. Let’s respect and support each other, not downplay each other’s experiences and struggles.

      4. Thank you for your empathetic comment. I think we all just want the best for our kids, and it can be heartbreaking to see them struggle, no matter the level of severity.

  7. Thank you for posting this. It was so heartfelt and honest. I’m so thankful for people like you who have learned so much and are willing to share with others. Our baby is seven months old and we’re definitely more prepared and confident about introducing solids because of everything we’ve learned. Our diets are also more nutrient dense now as well but we still have so much to learn. I’m so glad your little one is now truly healthy!

  8. Lisa, I really commend you on your journey to optimal health. When I look around the cafeteria at my local school, I wish there were more parents like you. Your child is truly blessed. I am sure you have read Pottenger’s cat theory and understand the generational effects of poor diet. My own mother (and her mother) ate a traditonal diet. I didn’t when pregnant with my first but I managed to sail through pregnancy and birth and my oldest is healthy and strong, thanks to the efforts of my parents and grandparents. I almost royally messed it up, but thankfully I discovered Nourishing Traditions before my second pregnancy.

    Ali, there is no need for the attack. I understand that you are hurt because of your own child’s health problems,but Lisa is discussing her family and her unique situation. Just because your problems are greater than hers, does not mean that her own issues should be brushed aside because in comparison (to you) her issues seem insignificant. It reminds me of a place I worked at several years ago where Woman one had a child who died in a car crash at age 16. Woman 2 had experienced a full-term still birth. Woman one felt that her

    grief was so much greater as she had known her child longer and became angry if anyone thought taht both women “in the same boat” of child loss.

    1. Jen, thank you for your comment and support. I’m glad you found Nourishing Traditions, too, and also that your mother and grandmother took good care of those genes!

  9. Thank you, this is exactly what I need to hear right now!

    I’m usually a verrrry healthy eater and I’m extremely passionate about nutrition, but being in my first trimester of pregnancy, the thought of pretty much any food- smoothies and vegetable in particular send me running for the hills!
    But this had encouraged me that I can do better; this is about growing a wonderful healthy baby and I can work harder to still eat great despite this rough period.

    Thank you so much 🙂

  10. Wonderful Post Lisa!! I’m so excited to start on the road to including even more traditional foods in our diet! We have a baby boy who has a perfect head, chubby cheeks, perfect teeth and bright eyes and part of me now thinks it may be because of my diet choices! 🙂

    1. That’s wonderful!! My second baby, born 8 weeks ago, is much fatter than my first (non-WAPF) baby, and my mom keeps commenting how perfect her head is. It just makes me smile to think I had a part in making her.

Leave a Reply

