I’m Still Here!

I haven’t posted anything in months, but I assure you, this blog has been alive and well in my head. Being pregnant really takes a toll on me. It’s been all I can do to eat and sleep enough. Actually, I never feel like I eat or sleep enough. It’s pretty exhausting.

I’m 25 weeks pregnant now. I feel the baby kicking daily. My food aversions aren’t quite so bad. I only vomit about once a week now, if that. I keep thinking how much easier this would be if I had a nanny, or a cook, or even just someone to clean up the kitchen every day. If I could just sleep and eat well every day, I might actually have enough energy to enjoy being pregnant. But such is not the case.

Instead, I think of all this stuff I want to write, yet never have the time/energy for (technically I should either be eating or sleeping right now). I lament how gross my house is getting, knowing that I will have to clean it up at some point if I want to have a baby here. I’d like to get some clutter out of the house and organize things, too. It irks me when people tell me to take advantage of my second trimester because pretty soon I’ll have no energy. Yep, my second trimester ends in about two weeks. Pretty soon, I get to have even less energy!

Despite all this, this pregnancy is going better than my first did. I’m so super grateful to understand what foods I need to nourish my body and my baby, even if I’m having a hard time get enough of them. It’s still better than how I ate last time. And I’m so very much looking forward to when I’m no longer pregnant and can eat better. I feel confident that I will bounce back after this pregnancy without too much difficulty.

I continue to see my wonderful midwife, so grateful to have her. Things would just be so awful if I was seeing a perinatologist again, or even a hospital midwife. I’ve learned there can be a big difference between hospital midwives and home birth midwives. My midwife used to work at the hospital I had my son at. She knows what goes on there. Oh, by the way, Birth Matters is a really good book.

I just wanted to write a quick update. I have a few posts in the queue that hopefully I can finish up in the near future, but I’m not really expecting to write a lot here for some time. Just too much to do at home, and so little time to do it in!

I’m so looking forward to meeting my baby. And so grateful for an understanding five-year-old boy. And, never thought I’d say this, but I’m thankful for public school, too, for keeping my son occupied for three hours each weekday morning–for free! Life can be good, even when you feel crummy. 🙂

Leave a Reply

